
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 
 

NEW YORK WING SUPPLEMENT #1       1 OCTOBER 2003 
TO CAPR 62-2 (8NOV02)      

Safety 
 

MISHAP REPORTING AND INVESTIGATON 
 

CAPR 62-2 dated 8 November 2002 is supplemented as follows: 
 
3. a. Added: If in doubt about whether injuries are reportable or not, contact the Wing Director of Safety for 
clarification. 
 
3. b. 1) b) Changed: change the word “accidents” to “mishaps” 
 
4. d. Added: Wing Mishap Notification Procedure. 
1) Mishap notification will be made to both of the following: 
 
 NY Wing Commander Home: 914-631-4245 
 Col Austyn W. Granville, Jr., CAP Fax: 914-631-4245 
 177 White Plains Rd # 43B Cell: 914-262-0404 
 Tarrytown NY 10591-5510 nywgcc@aol.com 
 
 NY Wing Director of Safety  Home: 203-698-2600 
 Maj Malcolm Dickinson, CAP  Work: 914-249-6565 
 5 Fairfield Ave FL 1  Cell: 914-645-5676 
 Old Greenwich CT 06870-1504  Fax: 270-716-0788 
  malcolm@aya.yale.edu 
 
2) The unit or activity commander will immediately notify both of the above.  A completed CAPF 78 “Mishap 
Report Form” must be faxed or emailed to both of the above within 48 hours.  The commander reporting the 
mishap should maintain a file with the original CAPF 78 and the date and time that it was emailed or faxed. 
 
3) The Wing Director of Safety will notify the Northeast Region Director of Safety as required by the Northeast 
Region Supplement 1 to CAPR 62-2. 
 
4) In the case of a serious aircraft accident within the region, the Northeast Region Commander will be 
immediately and personally notified. See NER Supplement 1 to 62-2. 
 
5) A copy of CAPR 62-2, a copy of this supplement, and a blank CAPF 78 will be carried in the binder of each 
corporate aircraft and corporate vehicle. 
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4.h.  Added: Vehicle Mishaps. 
1) When a New York State DMV form MV-104 “Report of Motor Vehicle Accident”  is required by law to be 
filed, a copy of the completed MV-104 will be included with the mishap report.  State law specifies that: 

You must report within 10 days any accident occurring in New York State causing 
a fatality, personal injury, or damager over $1,000 to the property of any one 
person.  Failure to do so within 10 days is a misdemeanor.  Your license and/or 
registration may be suspended until a report is filed. (text taken from MV-104) 

 
2) A blank form MV-104 must be carried in the binder of each CAP corporate vehicle.  Blank forms are 
available at www.nydmv.state.ny.us 
 
3) If a MV-104 is required but is not available at the time the CAPF 78 is submitted, it will be submitted to the 
wing director of safety within 10 days of the mishap. 
 
4.h.  Added: Aircraft Mishaps. 
4) Weather-related mishap reports involving a moving aircraft will include a printout of the weather information 
at the time of the mishap as reported by the nearest tower, ASOS, or AWOS. 
 
5) Mishap reports involving a taxiing aircraft will include a diagram of the incident and photos of the damage. 
 
6) An aircraft involved in a mishap may not be flown or repaired until the mishap has been reported and 
approval for further operation and/or repair has been given by the wing commander or wing director of safety. 
 
5.i.  Added:  
1) The unit commander or activity commander, and any driver or pilot-in-command involved in a mishap, will 
be responsible for reporting the mishap. Failure to report or document a mishap as required in paragraph 5.i. 
may result in the suspension of CAP membership. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
_____________________________________________ 
RICHARD LERZ, First Lieutenant, CAP 
Director of Administration 
 
<<< Signed >>> 
_____________________________________________ 
AUSTYN W. GRANVILLE, JR., Colonel, CAP 
Commander 
 
 
_________________________ 
Supersedes New York Wing Supplement #1 and #2, both dated 10 November 2002, to CAPR 62-2. 
OPR: SE 
Distribution: In accordance with CAPR 5-4
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